Do Yoga, Skip the Rest. ™

The Four Immeasurables

In Sanskrit-Yoga Sutra 1.33
Maitri karuna muditopeksanam sukha duhkha punyapunya visayanam bhavanatas citta prasadanam,’
translated, states: by cultivating attitudes of friendliness toward the happy, compassion for the unhappy, delight in the virtuous, and disregard toward the wicked, the mind-stuff retains its undisturbed calmness.

“Being deeply loved by someone gives you strength, while loving someone deeply gives you courage.”
—Lao Tzu

This Yoga Sutra captures the essence of words to live by. According to “The Metta Sutta, Gautama Buddha” held that cultivation of the four immeasurables has the power to cause the practitioner to be reborn into a “Brahmā realm” (Pāli: Brahmaloka). The meditator is instructed to radiate out to all beings in all directions the mental states of:

Loving-kindness or benevolence


Empathetic joy


We should soak up the these powerful words and discern their deeper meaning. Miracles can happen when we drop our guarded self (atman) and learn to trust more with an open heart. Striving for the four highest emotions will enable us to experience a more radiant and vibrant life.

Discover the Four Immeasurables, the four highest emotions.

In a world that can be tough, remember to practice The Four Immeasurables, Yoga Sutra 1.33.

From one of my hero yogis, I share these beautiful instructions on living for reflection:

To Love those that love you is easy. To love those that love you not is not so simple. If you want to change anyone, set a better example. Show more kindness, more understanding, more love. That has a sure effect. To those who are not kind, show kindness. To those who are mean, show bigness of heart. ― Paramahansa Yogananda

Thank you for stopping by YogaSkip’s Yoga Blog. I wish you well.

Machel Shull

Yoga Teacher & Wellness Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *